Due Jan. 31: Form 8300 Cash Reporting Customer Notification

Legal reminder from Colombo & Colombo, P.C.

As part of the IRS cash reporting rule, on or before the January 31st following the calendar year for which the Form 8300 was filed, dealerships must provide a written statement to each individual who has been identified on a Form 8300.

Therefore, for transactions that were reported to the IRS for 2021, it is necessary to inform any customer of the Form 8300 filing on or before January 31, 2022. This notification must include the name, telephone number and address of the dealership, the amount of cash that was received by the dealership and that the information has been reported to the IRS.  Please note: The law requires written notification. Merely informing the customer at the time of the sale that you will be filing the Form 8300 is not sufficient. If you sent the customer the notice letter at the time of the transaction, you do not need to send a notice at this time.

Click Here for a sample letter that the dealership can use to notify the customer of the Form 8300 reporting. Failure to send written notice to customers as specified above can result in civil penalties ranging from $250 to $500 per customer. The IRS recommends that businesses keep a copy of every Form 8300 it files and the required statement sent to each customer for at least five years from the date filed.

Vehicle Transactions in 2022

Plug-In Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Fee Increase

Effective January 1, 2022, the added registration fees for plug-in hybrid and electric vehicles increased by the following amounts:

  • The electric vehicle fee increased from $135 to $140 (for vehicles that weigh 8,000 lbs. or more, the fee increased from $235 to $240)
  • The plug-in hybrid fee increased from $47 to $50 (for vehicles that weigh 8,000 lbs. or more, the fee increased from $117 to $120)

NOTE: For dealer transactions, CARS e-Services/CVR determines the correct fee to charge based on the delivery date:

  • If the delivery date is 12/31/2021 or earlier, the previous plug-in hybrid or electric fee is charged.
  •  If the delivery date is 1/1/2022 or later, the increased plug-in hybrid or electric fee is charged.

Up to $8,000 Sales Tax Trade-in Credit

Effective January 1, 2022 the sales tax trade-in credit amount for vehicles delivered on or after January 1 is the price agreed to by the dealer and purchaser for the trade-in vehicle not to exceed $8,000. Please read this notice from the Michigan Department of State for more information.

New Requirement in 2022: Fuel Type Designation on RD-108

In January of 2022, the Michigan Department of State will require all dealers to designate the vehicle fuel type for each new vehicle transaction. This requirement will be enforced by the Michigan Department of State, Business Licensing Division. During MDOS inspections, compliance with this requirement will be reviewed.

The exact implementation date has not yet been announced, but we anticipate the state will begin mandating it by mid-January.